buch.ch

The Impossible Fortress

(2)

It´s 1987. Billy Marvin, the tallest boy in ninth grade, has just witnessed history.

Wheel of Fortune presenter Vanna White is on the cover of Playboy

Billy and his friends, Alf and Clark, know that if they can get hold of the magazine, their world will change. For ever.

But as Billy says, ´No shopkeeper in America was going to sell Playboy to a fourteen-year-old boy.´

As they set out on their mission to find the most wanted images in America, they´re blissfully unaware of the dangers, dramas and garbage dumpsters that lie ahead. And of how a girl called Mary might just change one of their lives. For ever.

Rezension
The Impossible Fortress reads like a newly-unearthed Amblin movie - a sweet, funny and moving tribute to nerds and misfits everywhere, set in a magical time when cassettes were king, phones had cords and Playboy was the pinnacle of smut. Fans of Ernie Cline and Chuck Klosterman - this is your next favourite book. Seth Grahame-Smith, author of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies The Impossible Fortress reads like a newly-unearthed Amblin movie - a sweet, funny and moving tribute to nerds and misfits everywhere, set in a magical time when cassettes were king, phones had cords and Playboy was the pinnacle of smut. Fans of Ernie Cline and Chuck Klosterman - this is your next favourite book. Seth Grahame-Smith, author of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 304
Erscheinungsdatum 02.02.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-571-33062-1
Verlag Faber & Faber
Maße (L/B/H) 216/134/27 mm
Gewicht 342
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 24.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1-2 Werktagen.
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen
Premium Card
Fr. 24.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen
Miles & More
24 Meilen sammeln
6101 Meilen einlösen
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 34910866
    The Life List
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 46530702
    City of Friends
    von Joanna Trollope
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 27.90
  • 46008893
    4 3 2 1 (4321)
    von Paul Auster
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 36.90
  • 43809866
    It Ends with Us
    von Colleen Hoover
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 17.90
  • 46694302
    Idaho
    von Emily Ruskovich
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 23.90
  • 46050938
    Two by Two
    von Nicholas Sparks
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 17.90
  • 42413879
    All the Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90
  • 47008055
    The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
    von Arundhati Roy
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 21.90 bisher Fr. 26.90
  • 45763142
    Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
    von Gail Honeyman
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90 bisher Fr. 24.90
  • 54010828
    My Not so Perfect Life
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 29974749
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 19261485
    To Kill a Mockingbird. 50th Anniversary Edition
    von Harper Lee
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 12.90

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„Barenaked Vanna White; oh là là!“

Johanna Braithwaite, Buchhandlung Basel

How do you go about getting your hands on a copy of the playboy? And not just any copy of the desired magazine, but the issue with Vanna White's naked behind on the cover!
It is the year 1987 and our hero is decidedly disadvantaged, not least since he has only just turned 14 and is therefor in no position to just go and buy it openly.
How do you go about getting your hands on a copy of the playboy? And not just any copy of the desired magazine, but the issue with Vanna White's naked behind on the cover!
It is the year 1987 and our hero is decidedly disadvantaged, not least since he has only just turned 14 and is therefor in no position to just go and buy it openly.

This is a charming and funny novel but also very touching and thoughtful. It is as much about growing up as it is about friendship, computer games and of course the greatest enigma for a teenage boy: girls.

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
2
0
0
0
0

The Impossible Fortress
von miss.mesmerized am 30.01.2017
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

Bill Marvin is a typical 14-year-old in the year 1987. When the Playboy publishes photographs of Vanna White, presenter of the famous „Wheel of Fortune“ show, Bill and his friends Alf and Clark are discussing strategies of how to buy the magazine at their age. Their master plan includes... Bill Marvin is a typical 14-year-old in the year 1987. When the Playboy publishes photographs of Vanna White, presenter of the famous „Wheel of Fortune“ show, Bill and his friends Alf and Clark are discussing strategies of how to buy the magazine at their age. Their master plan includes the security code to a small store owned by Mr Zelinsky. But how to get hold of it? The owner’s daughter Mary is the key. Bill is to befriend her to acquire the code from her. But when Bill gets to know Mary, he finds out that they both share the love for computer programming and that Mary is an expert in operating a C 64. She can help him to finalize his computer game The Impossible Fortress, Billy’s submission to an important competition. They more the two work on the programme, the more their mutual affection grows and Billy has already forgotten his initial mission while slowly falling in love. But then he is reminded of it and he takes an important decision. I liked Jason Rekulak’s story immediately because the author sends you straight back into the 80s. I have rarely read a novel set in the not too far away past in which the setting is that well established and plays such an important role. It is the music played in the shop, the TV programmes the boy watch, the heroes they discuss – and especially the Stone Age of computers that made me remember the time 30 years ago. All the small bits and pieces work well together to create an authentic setting for the plot. The characters are also well drawn and interestingly designed. Both Billy and Mary are outsiders without being the typical misfits. They are under the radar somehow, inconspicuous in a way but remarkable when you take a closer look. The nerd girl who is interested in typical boyish pastimes, the boy raised by a single mom who is clever on the one hand, but maximum negligent of school and his marks and even running the risk of having to leave high school without any degree. Seeing both of them immerse in programming, teaching themselves and pursuing their goal of the perfect programming for the computer game without realising what is happening to them, is a joy to read. Besides the story which is convincing and quickly captivating, it is Jason Rekulak’s style of writing which I genuinely enjoyed. He has a subtle humour and a way of describing situations that made me grin more than once and adore reading the novel. Even though the protagonists are young teenagers and the story somehow is a kind of love story, I would not call it a classic of the genre since particularly the setting could make the novel also interesting and appealing to people who remember the 80s and who would like to indulge in their memories of that time.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Impossible Fortress

The Impossible Fortress

von Jason Rekulak

(2)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 24.90
+
=
Kraft

Kraft

von Jonas Lüscher

(8)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
Fr. 28.90
+
=

für

Fr. 53.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale